About Us

The Foundation for PIHMA Research & Education was incorporated in Phoenix on February 23, 2001.The nonprofit was intended to provide support and funding for scholarships, research, library, medical clinics, education and charitable assistance to the general public. Designed as a nonprofit partner to the Phoenix Institute of Herbal Medicine & Acupuncture (PIHMA) which was established in 1996, the Foundation received federal tax exempt status as a 501(c)(3) on January 22, 2004, and was later confirmed as a public charity on May 2, 2006.  Together, with PIHMA, the Foundation seeks to bring greater awareness of and support in Asian and traditional medicines to the public.

Since that time, the Foundation formed the National Library of Traditional Medicine (www.nloftm.org) to house and manage collections from several colleges, including PIHMA and the American Medical College of Homeopathy (AMCH).

Most recently, the Foundation expanded its research capabilities with the assumption of the nonprofit Institutional Research Board (IRB) in homeopathy and the Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) of AMCH (which was acquired by PIHMA in 2015). The IRB and NGO were since expanded to include acupuncture research and activities. The Foundation conducts research in acupuncture, homeopathy and for other projects.

The Foundation’s activities are managed by the Board of Directors, led by Dominick Grillas, and includes Dan Bedgood, L.Ac, Todd Rowe, Paul Sugar, Cristina Whitehawk and Tamara Weaver.  Fundraising events include the Celebrity Chef Fundraiser, and the Author’s Series at the National Library of Traditional Medicine.

Note: The Foundation is actively seeking new Board members with skills and experience in the areas of fundraising, marketing or financial.  Anyone interested in serving on the Board with these skills should contact fpre@pihma.edu.  

Our Commitment

The Foundation for PIHMA Research and Education is committed to be a Center of Excellence in Research, Library, and Non-Profit Clinics for Integrative and Traditional Medicine.

Guiding Values

The Foundation’s Values guide the Mission, Vision, planning and practices:

  • Serve Compassionately
  • Act with Integrity
  • Foster Innovation
  • Grow Thoughtfully
  • Practice Gratitude
  • Commit to Excellence
  • Respect the Individual
  • Build Community
  • Cultivate Success

Members of the Board

Dan Bedgood, MSOM, Dipl. Ac. (NCCAOM), L.Ac.


Dan Bedgood is a military veteran, former IBM executive auditor, and bodyworker who later became a cum laude graduate of Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, read more…

Dominick Grillas, Founder and Managing Partner of Impestra LLC

DaG Pic1 2015-3

Dominick Grillas advises leaders and executives on strategy execution, portfolio management and enterprise performance and transformation. Read more…

Paul Sugar

Paul Sugar

Paul Sugar, is the founder and Director of the Scottsdale Institute for Health and Medicine. Read more…

Oscar Morales

Dr. Oscar Morales is the owner and founder of The Place Called OM. He is… Read more…


Executive Director

This position is currently open until filled.


Assistant Executive Director

Aniko Pinter, MLS


Aniko Pinter is a librarian at the National Library of Traditional Medicine in Phoenix, Arizona, read more…



Advisory Board

Catherine Niemiec, JD, LAc


Catherine Niemiec, J.D., L.Ac., is the President/CEO and Founder of the Phoenix Institute of Herbal Medicine & Acupuncture. Read more…


Todd Rowe, MD, MD(H), CCH, DHt


Dr. Todd Rowe is the past president and a founder of the American Medical College of Homeopathy. Read more…


Cristina Whitehawk


Cristina Whitehawk, CEO (Chief Empowerment Officer) of Powered By Genius™, … read more…


David Farren,  JD

Dave Farren

David is a member of the litigation team at Jaburg Wilk and works in employment, antitrust, read more…

Fred Lockhart


Mr. Fred Lockhart has served as the Executive Director of the Arizona Private School Association for the past 18 years. Read more…


Sonny Cave, JD

Sonny Cave‘s professional career spans 20 years of broad legal and business experience, read more…

Sonny Cave


Honorary Board

  • Sunil Anand, MD
  • Rudolph Ballentine, MD
  • Divya Chabra, MD
  • Gabriel Cousens, MD, MD(H)
  • Ruth Tam Lim, MD, MD(H)
  • Massimo Mangliavari, MD
  • Gladys McGarey MD, MD(H)
  • Jeremy Sherr RSHom, MCH
  • William Tiller, MD
  • Andrew Weil, MD